jump to navigation

English Next India – what does it mean to you? November 26, 2009

Posted by Stephen in English for Progress.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

We’ve all had a bit of time to digest David Graddol’s ‘tiny tome’ (not my quote) during the Third Policy Dialogue. If not, you can still view the recording of his presentation at http://www.britishcouncil.org.in/efponline/sessions/18.html

What I’d like to know is what does it mean to you. His statistics and conclusions may be new for an international audience, but is there anything new for an Indian audience?

What are your views?

Comments»

1. Ausra - November 28, 2009

I am from Lithuania. David Graddol’s presentation gave me a broader perspective on where my country stands in teaching and learning English. General picture excites me more than linguistic details, contrary to what David said at the beginning. It would be interesting to conduct a similar research in Lithuania. English is not a medium of teaching in my country’s universities and recently one student told me that here are schools in Lithuanian, I believe, rural areas where teacher addresses her class by saying: “‘Good morning childrens”. So, I think we have an Indian situation. Maybe worse even. But it is due to the fact that here are a lot of Lithuanian language patriots and purificators who also oppose the idea to start teaching English at primamry level, although many parents want their children to start studying it in the rpimary level.

2. Peter Fiedeldij Dop - April 13, 2010

In The Netherlands English is thaught very early in school, in some even in Kinderkarten. As a writer I see that our MT suffers. To give you an example: in English it is very easy to turn a substantive or noun into a verb: chair – to chair. In Dutch this is exceptional. A recent ‘invention’ is bushalte – bus halteert. Unheard of in my opinion. Question: do you want to develop as a modern western country or do you prefer to freeze your culture, including your MT? Changing is a normal reaction to change = adaptation in order to survive. My future depended on English and so will the futures of millions of people. Re India I state Speaking English Units All Indians. But I agree that a lot of water has to go through the Ganges before the goal is reached.


Leave a Reply

